Gransnet forums

Dieting & exercise

Does dark chocolate cause weight gain for you?

(11 Posts)
Dazy Sun 04-Feb-24 22:21:41

Looking at my blood test results I realised I'm edging dangerously close to prediabetes level.

Cutting down drastically on all carbs but wondered about dark chocolate. Is it a deception? I've got some choc drops and a handful feels really innocent, low sugar, 80% cocoa, but my sister eats it and can't shift the weight.

And a friend says dark chocolate causes more spikes On her glucose monitor than fruit.

Your experience please?
Thank you

DollyRocker Sun 04-Feb-24 22:56:54

Not sure about weight gain, dark chocolate gives me horrendous migraines so Ive cut it out.

TinSoldier Sun 04-Feb-24 23:15:42

If you compare the nutritional information for these two bars, Sainsbury's No Added Sugar and Green & Blacks Organic you can see that the fat and carbohydrate content is almost the same.

I'm not an expert (and don't have diabetes) but I'd say the carbs are coming from the milk content. These are simple carbs which would be digested and absorbed quickly causing blood glucose levels to spike.

100g of apple, which is an average size fruit has 14g of carbs, less than half the carb content of the chocolate bar. 100g of banana, that would be a smallish banana, has 23g still less than the chocolate bar.

OldFrill Sun 04-Feb-24 23:52:55

TinSoldier

If you compare the nutritional information for these two bars, Sainsbury's No Added Sugar and Green & Blacks Organic you can see that the fat and carbohydrate content is almost the same.

I'm not an expert (and don't have diabetes) but I'd say the carbs are coming from the milk content. These are simple carbs which would be digested and absorbed quickly causing blood glucose levels to spike.

100g of apple, which is an average size fruit has 14g of carbs, less than half the carb content of the chocolate bar. 100g of banana, that would be a smallish banana, has 23g still less than the chocolate bar.