Gransnet forums

Genealogy/memories

Things you don't see any more.

(111 Posts)
NanKate Wed 03-Dec-14 07:30:10

Do you remember when genteel ladies drank their tea they use to cock their little finger ?

Nandalot Tue 19-Sep-17 20:41:13

Yes, Amami, Specki. I remember the smell. It was always on gran's shopping list together with Fox's glacier mints,

Norma0312 Tue 19-Sep-17 20:24:30

Hi.I am new to Gransnet which seems very interesting. I remember Drene shampoo from the 60's and the lovely 'clean' smell it had and watching my mother make bread. this takes me back 65 yesrs but it seems like yesterday.

grandtanteJE65 Mon 05-Jun-17 15:55:37

Yes, I do! I think it was Cochrane's in Paisley that had them when I was a child. I have no idea what the thing was called, though.

LuckyDucky Sun 18-Oct-15 05:52:32

Those days of stockings and suspenders. Mention them today and watch male eyes light up.

Reading your thread Tanith, reminded me of the time I worked in Peter Jones at Christmas. I was wearing seamed stockings on the morning tights arrived. I sacrificed my lunch break buying a pair. The next morning - the joy/relief of warm legs.

Anyone remember funny moments wearing stockings and suspender belts? Or is that a different thread?

seacliff Fri 09-Oct-15 16:24:34

I got some Vitapoint recently Specki - its good and very reasonablely priced.

I remember big stone horse troughs in London - not sure exactly when they disapeared but would love one for my garden.

journeyman Sun 20-Sep-15 11:22:02

People walking down the street without a mobile in there hand or to their ears! People used to look where they were going, apart from the odd person walking down the street reading a book, something I've been guilty of at times ??

journeyman Sun 20-Sep-15 11:15:43

I remember the cigarette machines outside shops so you could buy them after hours and also the bubblegum machines that I think used to be on the wall outside as well.

specki4eyes Thu 05-Mar-15 19:54:07