Gransnet forums

Chat

Renting a campervan in Australia

(13 Posts)
jeanie99 Sun 06-Apr-14 19:04:18

What a nightmare to find clear costs and what is covered in the cost.
Not only do the sites not give clear details, the terms and conditions are so complex and go on for page after page I can't understand how anyone can make sense of any of it.
I just want to know what the basic cost is, what insurance cover I get with this and how much it costs to reduce the liability of an accident.
And what is the bond about up to $7500 that you have to pay, if you return the vehicle without damage you get your money back but you could have lost money because of the exchange rate.
It all sounds like a complete rip off to me.
Can anyone recommend a company who are transparent.
One of the Australian consumer groups said to avoid Avis, Budget and Eurocar because they exclude important details in their information.
HELP

annsixty Sun 06-Apr-14 19:53:29

I have no experience at all so can't help but when neighbours did this some years ago they stayed in motels now and again for the experience of bathrooms and comfy beds and said if they went again they would just rent a car and use motels all the time.They felt it would be cheaper and more comfortable all round.

tiggypiro Sun 06-Apr-14 20:18:05

Oh golly jeanie99 - my friend and I will hopefully be arranging such a trip in the near future. We usually ask Trailfinders to organise everything but have been told it is much cheaper to do it ourselves. After reading your post I think it will be Trailfinders again ! I would be interested in any help and advice you could offer.

numberplease Sun 06-Apr-14 20:42:30

Maybe Joan can help, is she still around?

Iam64 Mon 07-Apr-14 10:04:12

jeannie99 - young people in our family and friends group who've travelled in Australia all talk about the high cost of living. I'm told that some buy a used camper van and then sell it on when they leave Oz.

petra Tue 08-Apr-14 11:32:14