Gransnet forums

AIBU

shopping trollies

(36 Posts)
aggie Tue 13-Dec-16 15:39:23

At the supermarkets here , some of them have trollies which need a £1 coin to release , it is claimed back when you return the trolley . I am not too good at the walking and rather than staggering over to the trolley park place I offered my £1 to a shopper who had just put her stuff in her car . I shopped , returned the trolley and what did I get ! A metal Token , not a £1 coin , seriously miffed I am . Am I unreasonable to be miffed ?

henetha Fri 10-Feb-17 10:30:57

Hopefully we can buy new shaped tokens when our pound coin changes shape next month. I always keep a token on my key ring, it's so useful.
Most of the supermarkets around here don't charge anyway,
but Lidl does.
I can understand you feeling a "bit" miffed, but it's not important enough to be "seriously" miffed.

Desdemona Thu 09-Feb-17 15:50:57

It's probably not worth getting in a stew about...but the woman should have at least told you it was a token in her trolley, and not £1 (unless she forgot what she had used - I have tokens usually but often forget them so then I use pound coins.)

sunseeker Thu 09-Feb-17 14:42:42

This happened to me when the woman didn't tell me it was a token but just took my £1. I use the token all the time now and if someone suggests giving me their £1 and taking my trolley I always tell them it is a token - and none of them have chosen to take it!!

M0nica Thu 09-Feb-17 12:53:32

My token came free from the Information counter at my local supermarket, LeClerc, in France. I can also get a free token from the DIY store.

In England my local supermarket doesn't require a deposit for its trolleys.

Bebe47 Thu 09-Feb-17 10:50:17