Gransnet forums

AIBU

shopping trollies

(35 Posts)
aggie Tue 13-Dec-16 15:39:23

At the supermarkets here , some of them have trollies which need a £1 coin to release , it is claimed back when you return the trolley . I am not too good at the walking and rather than staggering over to the trolley park place I offered my £1 to a shopper who had just put her stuff in her car . I shopped , returned the trolley and what did I get ! A metal Token , not a £1 coin , seriously miffed I am . Am I unreasonable to be miffed ?

Elegran Tue 13-Dec-16 15:43:05

But you can use the token next time, instead of a £1 coin, nd carry on using it forever (unless someone else takes it over, as you did) You've not lost anything.

aggie Tue 13-Dec-16 15:44:54

True , but I can't use it when I go to our Seniors club , nor can I slip it to a GS or .......

aggie Tue 13-Dec-16 15:45:37

And they are the devil to get out of the slot !

Pittcity Tue 13-Dec-16 15:45:41

I bought some of those tokens from charities and now no longer have to remember a pound or euro when shopping, so your exchange may not be a bad thing.

Christinefrance Tue 13-Dec-16 15:53:49

Yes you are being unreasonable, you have the token so nothing lost. Can't get hot under the collar about this.

aggie Tue 13-Dec-16 16:00:45

Sigh ......... I can get hot under the collar about very little these days hmm

Christinefrance Tue 13-Dec-16 18:56:50

Think positive aggie, glass half full and so on. ( sometimes I annoy myself )

rosesarered Tue 13-Dec-16 19:21:13

Well aggie yes, actually you are right to be annoyed, that shopper has your pound and you have a token for a trolly, useful little things as they are, you can't spend them, and the shopper should have told you about the token (I always do in cases like this) as it means in reality you have lost a pound.

Jalima Tue 13-Dec-16 20:20:59

I expect the person who handed over the trolley is now kicking herself when she remembered she had put a token in there.