Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

Help needed to knit a larger size of baby pattern

(16 Posts)
Grannyknot Thu 17-Nov-16 14:27:32

Hi everyone, I'm hoping that someone on here has the expertise to advise me on enlarging a pattern. I've knitted it for my grandson and it is such a favourite that my DIL has asked that I knit a larger version - he is nearly 3 so I would need a toddler size.

I'm not experienced enough to do it and the best idea I can come up with is to use larger needles!? But I think it should be fairly easy to do (if you know what you're doing that is), the pattern is very simple, here's the link to it:

www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/baby-pink-garter-stitch-cardigan

If anyone can help, I will PM the PDF to you,

Thanks in anticipation!

P.S. the reason it is so much-loved is because the batwing sleeves make it so easy for dressing little ones, it's nice and roomy and comfy. I knitted it in pale grey.

Indinana Thu 17-Nov-16 14:41:55

You would need to completely redraft the pattern. The largest size is 20" chest. If, say, you now need a 24", then you need to add an inch each side of the front and each side of the back. Do a test square to see how many stitches you knit to the inch, then add this number each side, front and back. Bear in mind you will also need to make it longer, but that should be relatively easy to calculate by just measuring the child.
You will also have to work a few extra stitches into the neck shaping. Probably best if you draw the whole thing on a piece of graph paper (but remembering, of course, that knitted stitches aren't exactly square, so the finished draft on graph paper won't necessarily like in proportion).
And then, of course, you will have to adjust the sleeves accordingly.
Of course, you could always take a chance and knit the whole thing using, say, Aran yarn or even chunky knit with the appropriate size needles. Just follow the pattern exactly, adjusting the length where necessary.

Indinana Thu 17-Nov-16 14:46:05