Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

Overlockers

(19 Posts)
grandMattie Thu 09-Feb-17 09:15:30

I have decided to treat myself to an overlocker. I'm a fairly confident dressmaker and sewer, but have absolutely no experience in that front.
I have been offered a new Jaguar 486 overlocker for £184. Is it a good machine? Is that too expensive? Would it be the right machine for me?
Help!!

Welshwife Thu 09-Feb-17 09:25:15

I have no experience at all of these machines but I belong to a craft forum where a lot of people use them - a number of people bought theirs in Lidl and say they are very good - they are about the price you mention or slightly cheaper. Good luck with it - make sure you receive a manual too as it sounds as if they can be complicated.

Craicon Thu 09-Feb-17 09:45:26

Sorry, I haven't any experience of that model myself. A quick google shows that Brand new it's £199 from Amazon. Includes lots of extras for that price plus a guarantee.
www.amazon.co.uk/Jaguar-Supa-Lock-486-Overlocker/dp/B01KVUGFI4?tag=gransnetforum-21

I bought my Singer overlocker from Lidl. It's great for what I need as I'm not an expert and just use it for basic seam work.

You're obviously reasonably tech savvy as you're using this forum, so may I recommend that you look on YouTube for videos of various brands of overlockers? They have some great 'how to' tutorials.

I used to use a Husqvarna at my old sewing class which was also very straightforward to use.

Pinterest is also an excellent source of information and ideas.

Craicon Thu 09-Feb-17 10:21:52

Just to add my Singer overlocker (14SH754) was about £130 in Lidl and retails at £242 on Amazon. I'd been thinking of treating myself and thought the money saved by buying from Lidl could be spent on fabric and thread instead. Plus Singer is a well known brand and easy to get parts if needed.

grandMattie Thu 09-Feb-17 12:35:38