Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

Help with knitting: stripes

(14 Posts)
BradfordLass72 Wed 07-Aug-19 06:34:18

I'm a beginner and knit hats for charities, about one a day if I'm having an 'at home' day. Each ball of acrylic make one hat with some left over which I then use as a contrast stripe in the next hat. Navy with a red stripe, or lilac with purple etc.

Now, when I come to sew up the hat, however careful I am, those contrasting stripes are never absolutely lined up.

I've tried everything I can think of but being no expert, with little experience, I have the feeling there's an easy way I just don't know about.

I'm not knitting in the round. Yet to learn that skill.

Can anyone help?

NfkDumpling Wed 07-Aug-19 06:45:37

Personally, I sew the stripes first - then they match. But then you have to be really careful or you end up with a bit of a gather in the bits between!

If you knit ‘in the round’ with a circular needle, which is really easy, the stripes don’t exactly add up. At least not when I do it.

BradfordLass72 Wed 07-Aug-19 07:31:32

Thanks NfkDumpling I have tried that. It don't work for me :-(

Look up 'jogless knitting' and they explain tips on how to match stripes in the round - I just can't find any tips on 'matching stripes when knitting with two needles' [smile[

Bathsheba Wed 07-Aug-19 07:53:18

I always pin the seams of anything together before sewing, Use long pins, the ones with big, coloured round heads, so they don't slip through the knitting. And pin them perpendicular to the seam.

Persistentdonor Wed 07-Aug-19 10:32:12

Would it help to slip the first stich and knit the last, including purl rows? That gives a marvellous edge to the work, and I used to crochet pieces together just inside the edge rows. Was always tidy.

Or perhaps working the stripes in the ribbing would look better matched when made up?

Please do let us know if you hit on something fool proof.

BradfordLass72 Thu 08-Aug-19 03:04:18