Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

So much stuff!

(21 Posts)
travelsafar Sat 28-Sep-19 08:00:00

My hobbies include knitting and sewing as well. How i would love a dedicated room to set up my machine with an area for cutting out. I am no expert at either subject but i can get by and find both very relaxing. I have wool and knitting 'stuff' packed in baskets behind the sofa and in a chest of drawers, and sewing stuff under the bed and in the bottom of my wardrobe. I try not to leave it all out on display as it makes me feel messy in my head!!! smile My dh on the other hand has a whole spare bedroom with his models on display and he has gravitated to the kitchen table a small cupboard in the hall and we currently have several large packages delivered a couple of months ago still unopene.d sitting in the corner of the lounge!!!! He also has a whole garden shed too!!!!!!

Willow500 Sat 28-Sep-19 07:02:49

Oh gosh how much stuff I have is ridiculous! I crafted for years doing so many different things including making dolls houses and then I got into card making. I have tons of card, CDs, paper, card kits, glitter, machines, stamps etc. etc. We put the house up for sale 3 years ago so I packed a lot of it away in the garage but when we took it off the market I didn't bother getting it out again - my craft room is still crammed though and I really need to clear it out. I haven't made any cards for several years - I can't find the enthusiasm for it now. Giving all the stuff to a school might be a good idea if they want it.

Lyndiloo Sat 28-Sep-19 01:56:55

Oh, this struck a chord with me. I love to crochet - throws mostly. But nobody wants them! Why do I keep on ...? I have three huge bags of wool - and have now stopped myself from buying any more. (Shopping in Aldi yesterday, and they have some wool on sale - various shades - and my hand actually went out to pick some up, before I mentally slapped myself!)