Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

tunisian crochet

(15 Posts)
travelnan Thu 14-Jul-22 16:30:29

I cannot crochet but this looks fairly simple. I do a lot of knitting but there are only so many jumpers, cardigans and dog blankets I can knit and really would like a change and try to reduce my stash. Have any of you crafters tried it and is it really as easy as it looks. Would appreciate any feedback. Thank you.

Septimia Thu 14-Jul-22 18:21:48

I tried it many years ago and made a warm boot for my mum to wear over her plaster when she broke her ankle.

If it had been difficult I doubt if I'd have done it!

MiniMoon Thu 14-Jul-22 20:42:43

I've made lots of tunisian crocheted items. I recently completed a yoga blanket for my daughter. Here is a photo of it. I've made hats and mittens and fingerless gloves. The hat I made was done in the round.
I'm self taught. There are loads of YouTube videos to show you how.
Have a go, the sense of achievement is wonderful.

FarNorth Thu 14-Jul-22 22:16:29

That looks lovely MiniMoon.
I've always had a notion to learn crochet but didn't really like the look of the results I might get.
That looks more like a knitted pattern, tho, so I may even have a go. smile

Purplepixie Sun 17-Jul-22 09:34:19

*MiniMoon - I love it and well done to you.

I got a book out of the library and taught myself, its relatively easy. Enjoy!

Caleo Sun 17-Jul-22 10:33:04

That's lovely colour and pattern Minimoon and a nice thought for your daughter when she goes to do yoga.

MarleneOnTheWall Thu 01-Sep-22 12:20:50

I made this Tunisian Crochet Ten Stitch Afghan following the online instructions on It's all in a Nutshell Crochet

It is a very long tuition video but very clear and well worth sticking with to get the hang of working the corners.

I made this travel rug picnic blanket in James Brett Marble Chunky on a 6 mm hook. The colour changes are all in the yarn but you could also use odds and ends from your stash to make a multi coloured rug.