Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

weaning problem

(10 Posts)
felice Thu 13-Sep-12 13:29:18

My 7 month old grandson started taking solid food last month and really took to it well, now for the past few days when he takes more than 3 or 4 spoonfuls he starts screaming as though in pain. he is getting unsweetened baby cereal and pureed home-cooked food, I am a chef and cook especially for him. He is going to see his Doctor tomorrow but we wondered if anyone else has come across this. we tried giving him just his bottle for a couple of days then trying again, but the screaming started. He wants to eat and doesn't really want just a bottle.

minette Thu 13-Sep-12 13:41:40

Hello Felice

Poor little chap. I wonder if he might be teething? Sometimes as the teeth cut through (and before you can really see them) it can cause a lot of pain and perhaps he is eating because he wants to but then refusing more because the pain isn't worth it?

felice Thu 13-Sep-12 14:04:40

I thought of that, his first 2 teeth popped through last month, and didn't seem to bother him at all, his Mother was the same, no teething problems and he doesn't seem to be in pain at any other time. Perhaps we could try some Tgel on his gums before a meal. Thanks.

soop Thu 13-Sep-12 14:18:56

felice Our wee man went through a similar phase at 7 months. The discomfort was almost certainly connected with his tender gums. His mummy would also use a small amount of Tgel. It's such a shame, isn't it? No sooner has a wee one recovered from the distress of colic, when teething troubles kick in. Every phase eventually passes. Although at the time, the poor parents suffer as much as the baby.

whenim64 Thu 13-Sep-12 14:33:21