Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Car Seat dilemma

(14 Posts)
TedNRobin Thu 05-Dec-13 06:44:23

I'm not an expert here.. but I would try to helpsmile

So you need an infant car seat for sure.. I think you can go in for Britax B-safe and install it behind the passenger seat.
Are your two grandchildren forward facing? I’m asking this because I know some people FF till 4 years of age even!
You could buy a combination seat for the 3 year old if she's not RFing.. a combination seat would help her because she would in any case be moving to a high-belt booster soon. A good recommendation for that would be Britax Frontier.. If you do not want to spend that much, you could go for Evenflo Maestro or Graco Nautilus. Nautilus and Frontier both have the same width.. but Frontier’s shell is bigger height wise..

The third seat can be a convertible.. Go for Radian or Recaro Pro-Ride because they both are pretty slim and usually work in the 3-car-seats-in-the-back scenario.. If you want to RF the GS.. you can install the convertible in the middle as Radian's/Pro-Ride's tall shell can eat into the driver’s space.

You can check out more details about these cars here:
www.britaxusa.com/car-seats/b-safe
recaropromotion.com/proRide.html
www.britaxusa.com/car-seats/frontier-85

I hope this info helped a little.. You could find more seats that fit your budget while meeting your safety criteria using this site.. www.carseatvs.com/dofind. You can even draw comparisons between two seats on this site..

grannyactivist Thu 08-Aug-13 22:09:41

Thanks for the links Aka - I thought I knew the law regarding car seats and safety measures, but this one is new to me: It is illegal to carry a child in a rear-facing child seat in the front, which is protected by an active frontal airbag: deactivate any front airbags before fitting a rear-facing baby seat in the front seat.
(Never owned a car with passenger airbags.)

absent Thu 08-Aug-13 20:32:35