Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Childcare

(25 Posts)
Monrouge Sun 08-Jun-14 23:18:17

Hello everyone I am new here and I hope some of you can help.

The problem is my son and DiL are having their first baby soon. It has been agreed the my DiL mother will look after the baby for two days a week as they are very,very close. Then my son asked me if I would do another day. I refused, but to give you the bigger picture I have been fighting cancer for the last 5 years and finally starting to get my life back and I told him I don't want to commit to a regular thing but as far as babysitting goes then the door is always open.

I am worried now that I will be shut out. I always knew I wouldn't see the baby as often as I liked because DiL and her mother are so close, they live yards away from each other and she is a constant presence in my son's house.

Am I being selfish?

Nanabelle Mon 09-Jun-14 00:48:01

Hello Monrouge - welcome - I too am quite new, but have been browsing for some time! I wonder how old the baby will be when the mum goes back to work? It might not be for ages!
I look after my g.d for one day a week - I love it but it is a big commitment and my weeks seem to fly by more quickly now. I think you are right not to jump in and agree straight away in your circumstances, although you could try it out on the condition that if it didn't work out for you, then there would be no hard feelings if you stopped? I think it is a great privilege to be asked to help out in this way and it is nice that your son wants your input too .
It is difficult if one parent lives really close and the other a long way away. How far away are you? Pehaps you can visit regularly , even if you are not the sole carer for a whole day, and offer support in other ways…. take the baby out for a long walk so mum can have a lie-in or shower in peace!
I like to FaceTime/skype regularly too as the babies change so quickly it is nice to watch them grow.