Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Victorian Gothic fiction analysis

(22 Posts)
annodomini Tue 26-Apr-16 09:50:11

York Notes available on line. Better get hold of it soon.

M0nica Tue 26-Apr-16 09:37:28

I studied Jane Austen's Northanger Abbey as one of my A level English texts. This is a send up of the gothic novel. The first task our teacher set us at the start of the course was to write a chapter from a supposedly long lost Gothic novel, based on the information about these novels in Northanger Abbey.

It was great fun and a really good start to our course. Perhaps the OP and his friends could start by doing something like that. It would teach them a lot about how the effects of such a book are constructed and give him/her a guide to how the style is created.

BBbevan Tue 26-Apr-16 09:24:21

We studied Jane Eyre, know to the class as Hairy Jane. I did that book again at uni.

Charleygirl Mon 25-Apr-16 22:35:54

It is so long ago I cannot remember.

Deedaa Mon 25-Apr-16 22:32:40

DD was stuck with Jude the bloody Obscure and dreary Seamus Heaney for A Level. She'd have loved Dracula!

trisher Mon 25-Apr-16 19:41:03

Yes I do.

Galen Mon 25-Apr-16 19:29:35

Hmm

NanaandGrampy Mon 25-Apr-16 19:13:28

Better than plimsolls I guess smile

Jane10 Mon 25-Apr-16 19:08:55

They do if they're on exam leave and mucking about instead of studying!

harrigran Mon 25-Apr-16 19:06:23

This is getting tedious. real students don't have time for pestering people on forums.

LullyDully Mon 25-Apr-16 17:32:25

Did you finish your essay on Gransnet and get a good book. I hope you enjoyed Dracula as muchgrin

grumppa Mon 25-Apr-16 17:16:35

And for the avoidance of doubt, I am not quite old enough to have known Sheridan Le Fanu or Bram Stoker personally.

annodomini Mon 25-Apr-16 16:56:08

Ask your teacher to recommend study material on the subject of the Gothic novel. There should be plenty available. As for me - to quote Grumppa: "you couldn't possibly afford me". grin