Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

New talent!

(48 Posts)
campodol Mon 06-Feb-17 11:03:30

After watching..this time next year..i have been inspired to do something i have always wanted to do so this time next year i will play keyboard ?therefore i will need all the help i can get so any hints would be greatly appreciated,anyone else been inspired? Would love to hear what others would like to do

Yorkshiregel Fri 01-Mar-19 12:18:48

I was commenting on how we lived in Mons in Belgium but it was supposed to be a private message. Never mind. If you can tell me whether I should delete it I will, but do not know how!

Witzend Fri 01-Mar-19 10:46:15

I wasn't quite a complete beginner, having passed grade 2 piano around 50 years previously! but by the time I returned to the piano it had been so,long, I almost had to start again from scratch.

In case anyone else might be in the same circs, I found the Carol Barratt course for adults (classical piano) very good - book one is for complete beginners. After about a year of working on my own, I joined a group class.

I dare say there are similar tutor books for keyboard, though if you aren't bothered about the bells and whistles, the CB books would be good for keyboard too.

I buy all my music 2nd hand on Amazon or abebooks, and do find the past-syllabus ABRSM exam books, the ones with CD, very helpful. Not just for knowing how a piece is supposed to sound, but also for deciding which ones I,like enough to spend many hours working on!

harrigran Fri 01-Mar-19 10:29:30

I think you have lost the thread you were posting on Yorkshiregel as this post does not make any sense.

Yorkshiregel Fri 01-Mar-19 10:21:47