Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

manual to automatic car

(40 Posts)
Fennel Mon 16-Apr-18 15:38:55

As I've mentioned elsewhere we moved back from France 2 months ago. When we were there I drove every day, manual vehicles, and now we have an automatic car.
I drove here for the first time yesterday (very nervous of all the traffic) and it was ok, except my left foot seemed to want to apply the brake, instead of my right foot. So we kept coming to a sharp halt.
Has anyone else made this change, and can give advice how to get into the habit of only using right foot?

teabagwoman Sun 22-Apr-18 16:10:42

Same here NannaandGrampy. Changed to an automatic because my left knee was getting so painful and have never looked back. I can concentrate on reading the road and avoiding the potholes! I’m sure I’m a safer driver now. Found the changeover much easier than I expected and am so glad I did it.

NanaandGrampy Sun 22-Apr-18 15:57:26

I wouldn't swap back for the world.

Its been a good number of years since I changed from manual to automatic after a holiday in the US where we got an automatic rental car. It was an eye opener.

Once I tucked my left foot away , I never looked back. Hours and Hours of being stuck in traffic jams in a manual car were a nightmare, those same type of jams in an automatic are a doddle.

Its better for my dodgy knee ( the left one) and I NEVER feel out of control, if anything I feel more in control. Doing gear changes whilst going round roundabouts is a thing of the past , now I can keep both hands firmly on the wheel once I have selected drive at the start of a journey.

I highly recommend it.

SueDonim Sun 22-Apr-18 14:30:04

grin

So are you right-foot braking now, Fennel?

Fennel Sun 22-Apr-18 12:39:25

SueDonim Sat 21-Apr-18 14:38:59

I tried the left foot braking thing yesterday when I was leaving my drive to go out. I definitely won't be doing that again!
Exactly my feeling, Sue!

Mapleleaf Sat 21-Apr-18 22:32:15