Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Anyone got an Echo Dot / Alexa

(14 Posts)
Coolgran65 Tue 08-Jan-19 14:49:03

My kitchen radio has had it. It's too big and the CD Player is a bit temperamental. I've been thinking of buying a smaller and better radio when my friend showed me her Alexa which was a gift. She doesn't have to pay for extra music from Spotify as her daughter has Spotify and joined her as one of her four allowed friends.

It is very small, plays all radio stations..... and all sorts.

It is on Amazon at what seems like a decent price - for an extra £10 you get two.

Can anyone tell me what they think of the Echo Dot/Alexa.

And is there any reason or advantage to having two of them.
If I had two of them do they work totally independantly of each other, even though they'd both be linked to my one Amazon Account.

Sorry if that sounds like a stupid question.... I'm not too tech savvy.

Charleygirl5 Tue 08-Jan-19 14:56:41

I have both and I love mine. I have the Dot in my bedroom and use it as an alarm clock and also she tells me the news whenever I ask.

The one downstairs tells me the local weather (for some reason my Dot will/can not). The Alexa downstairs acts as multiple timer when I am cooking. I play music on it and I do not pay a penny. I have even stored away my CDs. Okay, the sound is not perfect but I am happy.

The one annoying thing is if eg I say Alexa, flash briefing (news) and both hear, both will talk merrily unless I stop one or both. Does that help?

GrannyGravy13 Tue 08-Jan-19 15:09:05

I love Alexa - she is the only person in my home that doesn’t disagree with me!!!!

Sar53 Tue 08-Jan-19 15:16:43

I bought an Echo Dot when they were half price on Amazon recently. I had a Bluetooth speaker bought for me for Christmas and they are paired together. I have Amazon Prime and play music from that. The sound is now good, the speaker on the Dot on its own is not the best. I'd recommend buying one.

MiniMoon Tue 08-Jan-19 15:59:16