Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

What has been your favourite voluntary job?

(35 Posts)
Grammaretto Wed 13-Nov-19 17:18:22

I'm asking for a friend, truly, who wants to volunteer a day or two a week somewhere where she can make a difference.
She has taken early retirement so is still quite young and fit with few commitments because she lives alone.

She has lots of skills from cooking to admin but really I think she wants to be in a fairly busy environment. She doesn't want to work in a charity shop but apart from that, she is easy.

Cabbie21 Sat 16-Nov-19 23:30:51

Another vote for Citizens Advice. I have been doing this for over ten years and it still ticks lots of boxes for me.
I go in two days a week, which gives me a pattern to my week. There is excellent training, then you continue to learn on the job. You meet people from all walks of life, clients and colleagues. There are more volunteers than paid staff, and you get tremendous support from the staff supervisors, I enjoy using my computer skills and developing my knowledge and skills. Above all, it gives me the opportunity to help people who really need it. (I do a lot of Personal Independence Payment claims and Appeals)

Fennel Sat 16-Nov-19 19:59:27

genie I would like to do that too.
My early voluntary jobs were similar - I used to support children one to one who had learning problems.

genie10 Fri 15-Nov-19 20:23:00

I used to listen to children read at the local junior school a couple of afternoons a week and that was really nice. I got to know the children and was sometimes asked if I'd help on days out too.

kaycee Thu 14-Nov-19 19:26:26

I have enjoyed volunteering in a charity shop and in the library because it means lots of interaction with people. But perhaps the most rewarding is as a befriender to disadvantaged youngsters - giving them a few hours a week just for them away from their troubles is amazing.

suzette1613 Thu 14-Nov-19 18:04:51