Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Multifocal contact lenses

(15 Posts)
Chestnut Tue 26-Jan-21 11:12:16

tanith

Good grief I’m going bonkers I didn't even register you’d said contact lenses please ignore me and my post, sorry.

Ha ha! Me too. I was talking about Nikon glasses not contact lenses.

Chestnut Sun 24-Jan-21 23:47:59

If you pay enough you won't have any trouble. I use Nikon Home and Office which were expensive but I can use them for TV, computer and reading with no trouble at all. They are brilliant. And I've been using them for 6 years with no need to upgrade yet.

GrandmaKT Sun 24-Jan-21 22:54:14

I've been wearing them for about 5 years. It did take several attempts to find the right prescription, and even now it is a bit of a compromise. I can read fine in them and they are great for driving, but if I need to see something in the far distance it's a bit fuzzy.
So much better than glasses for driving, shopping (especially when wearing masks), cycling - everything really! Hope you get on with them!

WW010 Sun 24-Jan-21 22:51:32

I went to try some. They gave me a pair and sent me to walk round the supermarket for 20 mins. It was a revelation! Felt instantly comfortable. Was told to go back for a tuition session on putting them in myself. Covid hit and I’ve never been back. Maybe 2021 could bring a chance to try again ?

Flaxseed Sun 24-Jan-21 22:45:03

I did think I would be getting a different strength for each eye, but the ones I am trialling apparently have different ‘zones’ on the lenses.
I have been told that they might not totally eliminate the need for reading glasses for very small print tho.

I really hope I adjust to them quickly! I’m not very patient grin

baubles Sun 24-Jan-21 22:12:36

Ashcombe I tried that as it worked for a while but in the end my vision wasn’t sharp enough hence the multifocals. Brilliant solution if it works though and far cheaper.

Scentia Sun 24-Jan-21 22:11:33