Gransnet forums

Books/book club

Have you heard about this book that is shooting into the best sellers list...

(41 Posts)
j08 Fri 05-Jul-13 08:44:18

...48 years after it was published.

Ian McEwan was just raving about it on the Today prog. Apparently, it was considered fairly nondescript at the time of publication, but someone (don't know who) has read it recently and it seems set to become huge!

It is only £2.99 on Kindle. (other versions are available) everyone's summer reading?

specki4eyes Sat 14-Sep-13 09:15:57

I really enjoyed this book - a life and death thoroughly and interestingly explained. As someone once said to me - "you can't beat a good owd'un"

Ariadne Fri 30-Aug-13 16:27:54

Haven't heard of Tom Canty, bootie, but will have a look. Oh, and welcome!

petallus Fri 30-Aug-13 16:16:32

I'm a third of the way through Stoner having seen it mentioned somewhere else.

Yes, it's beautifully written, well worth reading.

bootie41 Fri 30-Aug-13 15:53:44

Hi I am new to this forum so hellow to everyone,
have any of you read tom cantys first book, clapham lights I couldn't put it down, it was so easy to read, and such a laugh. I emailed him to thank him and told him I would let others know about it , I got a nice reply from him.

bookdreamer Mon 29-Jul-13 08:59:38

Love this book so thanks J08. Very moving and beautifully written.

j08 Sat 27-Jul-13 19:51:05

smile

Hunt Sat 27-Jul-13 18:34:51

I also found Stoner moving.It was a very well rounded book-most satisfying.

j08 Sat 27-Jul-13 13:14:49

So glad I put it on here Mishap. Good that you enjoyed it. smile

Mishap Sat 27-Jul-13 13:05:41