Gransnet forums

Books/book club

World Book Day today

(18 Posts)
Gonegirl Thu 07-Mar-19 10:10:03

What are you reading?

I have just started Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad. Anyone else read it? What are my chances of getting into it? I do like books about Africa.

GrannyGravy13 Thu 07-Mar-19 10:21:02

Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness

The second book in The Discovery of Witches trilogy.

I am trying to only read a chapter a day as I want to take it on holiday and then go straight onto the third book.

The genre is out of my comfort zone, but I am thoroughly enjoying the characterisation and historical aspects which have been woven into the story.

Teetime Thu 07-Mar-19 10:31:19

Dinner for Two Mike Gayle- I'm enjoying it.

Sarahmob Thu 07-Mar-19 10:41:25

I studied Heart of Darkness at uni, I found it really hard going.
I’m reading The Tatooist of Auschwitz at the moment.

Alima Thu 07-Mar-19 11:13:54

I am reading The Friend at the moment. (Should be Treasure Island as DGS has gone to school dressed as a pirate. Very good he looked too).

eazybee Thu 07-Mar-19 12:43:13

Good Morning Midnight by Jean Rhys.
To be absolutely honest I am reading it as part of a university course, and last night,when I couldn't sleep, I also read, from my comfort bookshelf, my very old copy of The Talisman Ring by Georgette Heyer, price two shillings and sixpence.

Gonegirl Thu 07-Mar-19 13:50:20

Two and six! Wow! The oldest of my books seems to be Silas Marner by George Eliot 25p. George Orwell's Coming Up For Air was £2.95. I wouldn't mind reading them again but the print seems to have shrunk!

Daddima Thu 07-Mar-19 16:02:34

The Break by Marian Keyes.

( As an aside, I’m horrified by the pictures on social media of schoolchildren in elaborate costumes. What about the wee souls whose parents don’t have the imagination, skills, time, money , or even the inclination to make or buy outfits?)

chelseababy Thu 07-Mar-19 16:16:25