Gransnet forums

Charities

Advise needed re sponsoring a child

(39 Posts)
NfkDumpling Tue 25-Feb-14 14:24:15

I've been supporting Guide Dogs for the Blind for many years and must have given a complete dog by now, so, having just been to India and seen some of the problems there, I'd really like to to sponsor a child with help for education instead. Googled sponsoring and am thoroughly confused. There are so many different organisations. Anyone out there sponsoring who can give advice?

Maggiemaybe Fri 01-Sep-17 13:45:11

We sponsored a little girl in India via Action Aid for a few years back in the 80s. Then we had a letter from Action Aid explaining that they had decided to stop running the scheme in her area of Mumbai because it was causing difficulties in the community. I haven't kept the letter but as I remember it the families benefitting from the scheme kept demanding more and this was leading to problems both between neighbours and with adjoining areas. It put us off really, and it was sad to think that "our" little girl would lose her support, so instead of starting up another sponsorship we switched to a UK homeless charity.

paddyann Fri 01-Sep-17 12:38:12

I sponsor 2 children with Plan but I also support Mary's Meals who do a fantasic job of feeding children in school which gets them an education too...over 90% of all money they recieve goes direct to the children in need

Hopechennai Fri 01-Sep-17 12:34:35

Message deleted by Gransnet. Here's a link to our Talk Guidelines.

Hopechennai Thu 17-Aug-17 08:26:49

we have a sponsored many child through several orphanage. thanks for sharing a great information.

Eglantine19 Thu 17-Aug-17 08:21:34

Can't get through to your Facebook page Isponsordirectly. Says it's been removed or only available for a closed group.

BlueBelle Thu 17-Aug-17 07:55:35