Gransnet forums

Chat

How do I make Friends

(18 Posts)
Caramac Tue 19-Nov-13 22:12:55

I find that I am guilty of not maintaining friendships because work and family take up so much of my time. I too made a massive move some years ago and left behind many friends, I didn't make new ones at the school gate as the children were older and didn't need me there.I had no car and was studying for a vocational degree but the girls I studied with mostly moved away and now have young children. Most of the time its fine although sometimes I need a chat but as its usually to offload I feel guilty about only sharing problems and so don't pick up the phone or visit. Who needs a moaner?
I do think joining groups is good and you might just find a friend or two who you resonate with. I just wish I had looked after my friends more. I know its a two way street but I think I inadvertently gave the impression my life was full and exciting. Which it isn't.

tanith Tue 19-Nov-13 21:57:12

I too suffer from being happy with my own company and wanting someone to share things like a walk during the day when OH (my truly bestest friend)is working . When we first moved here after a while I got to know a couple of people but quickly found them wanting me to be their 'best' friend and wanting too much of me if that makes sense . I ended up being a bit rude when one of them wanted my home phone number and kept calling me to unload her woes.. I guess I am just selfish and don't derserve nice friends.. oh well!!

grannyactivist Tue 19-Nov-13 21:41:26