Gransnet forums

Chat

Do you prefer to shop alone?

(29 Posts)
kassi Sat 20-Dec-14 16:51:08

For 51 weeks of the year, I do the food shopping. Me, on my own. I am in and out in less than 20 mins. I have a list. I know what I want. I know where everything is. No problem. I know approx how much it will cost. The week before Xmas...... Arghhhhhh! DH tags along! OMG! I have been doing it wrong for 40+ years! Isn't it amazing how 'they' suddenly become an expert on something that you've been doing quietly and just getting on with it? Oh FFS! Please just leave me to it !

granjura Sat 20-Dec-14 16:56:28

Agreed- lol ;)

tanith Sat 20-Dec-14 16:59:14

I do prefer it but since OH has gone on part-time before he retires next year he's come with me.. but its fine at least he picks out what he wants to eat which saves me thinking of meals for him (he's fussy), a bit of drawback is he encourages me to buy cakes,desserts and I don't need encouraging in that department.
Sorry you find it stressful kassi but just think how you'll feel when he wants to come every week. Could you not give him his own list so he can wander at his leisure and you get on with the real work and meet up in the coffee shop?grin

Elegran Sat 20-Dec-14 17:04:19

Take two trolleys and split the list in half. On his list have all the things that you will be happy with his choice, and all the heavy things from the top shelf. Your list can have the things you would rather choose yourself.

Juliette Sat 20-Dec-14 17:11:29

When DH retired he decided he would come shopping with me. It took twice as long as he just kept wandering off, bit like shopping with an inquisitive toddler. When we got to the end I loaded the shopping on to the belt and he just stood there! Everything piled up, still he stood, no packing action, in the end I had to tell him to put the shopping in the bags!! Only took him once, couldn't stand the trauma!

loopylou Sat 20-Dec-14 17:12:40