Gransnet forums

Chat

Would you like to have "smokey eyes"?

(22 Posts)
Grannyknot Tue 22-Nov-16 12:16:02

I get the giggles every time I click on the GN home page and see the advert exhorting me to try the "smokey eye" look. Would you like "smokey eyes"?! What does it even mean! grin

Poor woman, her with the smokey eyes.

grin grin

ninathenana Tue 22-Nov-16 13:26:29

I go for the "smokey eye" look on a rare night out which involves dark grey/silvery grey shadows with black eye liner. All be it with a lighter touch than a younger person.

rosesarered Tue 22-Nov-16 14:05:49

Does it mean standing next to a smokey chimney?

KatyK Tue 22-Nov-16 14:18:58

I'm not very good with eye make up, I just sort of dollop it on and hope for the best!

Juggernaut Tue 22-Nov-16 14:25:29

If I attempt the 'smokey eye' look, I look like a streetwalker!

Beammeupscottie Tue 22-Nov-16 14:48:15

The trouble with heavy make-up in old age is that you tend to look like a transvestite. I like a muted smokey eye and make-up my face every day, whatever. Although I must admit that daily scrutiny into the magnifying mirror is getting terrifying. I have told my family to shoot me when they see me au naturale,as the end will be near.

Grannyknot Tue 22-Nov-16 14:53:53

Interesting, all the different views about make up.

I used to "wear make-up" when I worked in an office which consisted of a sweep of mascara and a slash of lipstick and a brush of blusher.

Nowadays I go au naturelle and I rather like it, all the masks have been dropped.

Never had smokey eyes because I don't really know what it is! Who decreed it to be smokey? Or should that be smoky? Is this a matter for the pedants?!

smile

paddyann Tue 22-Nov-16 15:04:05