Gransnet forums

Chat

Superstitions True or False

(75 Posts)
Rufus2 Thu 02-Aug-18 10:33:13

Do many GNs believe?
Or does anyone who claims to be a non-believer keep their fingers crossed behind their back as they say it; and then knock on wood? Just in case! grin
OoRoo

NemosMum Sat 04-Aug-18 21:26:23

Not superstitious at all. Only believe in the laws of physics!

Rufus2 Sat 04-Aug-18 14:20:19

Good Evening All
Whilst doing a bit of searching on Gransnet I discover that "superstitions" have already been given a good work-out in 2017 and 2013.
There's more than you could shake a stick at and many posters ( nicknames) who are not posting nowadays. shock
I'm a novice; only been a member for just over 3 months and learning as fast as I can, but having to go back 5 years to check whether a proposed thread has predecessors is obviously a lesson to be learned.
Mind you, I now have even more "superstitions" to guard against. sad
Is this an example of "Karma", of which I know nothing and care even less ?
I've been more than amazed at the enthusiastic response to this thread; all pros. and cons. have been illuminating and sometimes amusing, which is a most important feature to ward off evil spirits.
Thank you all very much. smile
Btw; I apologise for the badly phrased thread title which I now see led to some confusion, but I'm a non-believer on each count (and also a non-thinker at times), so keep walking under or around ladders and relax.
Now back to my 2 maggies who started all this off. wink
Ta-Ra

moxeyns Sat 04-Aug-18 13:20:52

My magpie thing is "G'day, your Honour" - unisex smile

Eloethan Fri 03-Aug-18 23:22:06

My only superstition is "touch wood". I think it stems from a feeling that I should never take it for granted when things are going well. Of course, touching wood is totally irrational but I suppose lots of people have silly little rituals that help them to feel more secure.

Marthjolly1 Fri 03-Aug-18 23:02:17