Gransnet forums

Chat

Teapots

(65 Posts)
paddyann Thu 01-Aug-19 10:48:27

We still use a teapot that was a wedding gift 44 years ago .as my mother did before me I never actually wash it out just rinse it under the hot tap.We dont have hard water so theres no build up of any sort apart from the brown staining on the inside from years of 6 or 8 or more pots of tea a day .

I think washing it in soap might affect the taste so I was surprised when friends told me hers in put in the dishwasher daily.I never drink tea in her house so I have no idea if I'm right about taste .

Whitewavemark2 Sat 25-Jul-20 19:17:20

Two tea pots always washed in the dishwasher.

The not washing them is rubbish imo.

callgirl1 Sat 25-Jul-20 17:37:49

I`ve always washed my teapots every other day, one of my daughters tells me off, says they should never be washed. When I worked in a factory canteen, the teapots were large metal ones, the supervisor made us fill them with water from the boiler and lots of Domestos, every Friday, then leave them overnight. Nobody complained about the tea.

ginny Sat 25-Jul-20 07:57:07

Two teapots in our house.
One is a green four cup and the other a small one that I use when I just need tea for me.
We rinse with hot water after each use and about once a week they go in the dishwasher.
Can’t stand tea made in the mug/ cup.

NotSpaghetti Sat 25-Jul-20 02:27:52

I think the reason some people don’t wash the pots is going back to the Yixing teapots which were porous. These are the ones with the big handles and small bodies. There would be a teapot for each type of tea - they were only rinsed out so that the unique flavours developed.

If, like me you like different teas, Assam, Yunan, Green, for example, you might not want the flavours to be tainted.

jdga Sat 25-Jul-20 01:53:26

I have 2 tea-pots that are “out & about” - 1 is the classic “brown Betty” & the other (bought too many yrs ago to count!) is