Gransnet forums

Chat

Should the 2 metre social distancing rule be reduced ?

(46 Posts)
JenniferEccles Wed 10-Jun-20 16:16:17

I have read that we are in the minority with our 2 metre rule with the WHO recommending just 1 metre and many other countries having 1.50 metres.

It would certainly help the situation with shops planning to re-open on Monday and hopefully restaurants and cafes in July.

It may even help the situation with schools.

12Michael Wed 10-Jun-20 16:50:06

The PM BJ is saying something today at 1700 on the daily update .
Mick

PamelaJ1 Wed 10-Jun-20 16:53:27

Well I’m doing my risk assessment at the moment for a potential reopening in July. I’m a beauty therapist.

So far I haven’t been able to get over this rule. I’ve tried lots of sites. My professional body has lots of advice but I haven’t, as yet, worked out how to treat anyone without touching them!

Anyone out there with very long legs who wants a pedicure?

MerylStreep Wed 10-Jun-20 16:57:19

PamelaJ1
I'm only 5' but I will if you will ?

JenniferEccles Wed 10-Jun-20 17:03:59

PamelaJ1 ?

I had read a couple of weeks ago that it was being considered but I haven’t heard any more.

Yes we all know that the virus is still there but the numbers are coming down so I would have thought that now is the ideal time to change.

We all know that a lot of businesses are really struggling to survive so I do hope it’s being seriously considered.

Tangerine Wed 10-Jun-20 17:33:39

Perhaps pedicures are permitted. Chiropodists are working and some have worked right through lockdown.

I accept that a pedicure is different but it's the same area of the body.

I am uncertain.

PamelaJ1 Wed 10-Jun-20 17:33:52

Meryl, shame I haven’t got arms like twizzle?

I do, however have a niece with links to the Dept. Of public health so, hopefully, will be able to get some more useful information from her.