Gransnet forums

Chat

did anyone work for a company that "contracted out" of the Governments pension scheme?

(17 Posts)
infoman Tue 10-Nov-20 07:12:21

I am not asking for financial advice,
just curious if any one thought it was a good or bad thing.

Marydoll Tue 10-Nov-20 07:20:46

Yes, both my husband and I. I was a teacher and my husband was a LA officer.
We are fortunate as I believe that few pension schemes are based on final salaries nowadays.

M0nica Tue 10-Nov-20 07:45:56

It happened to anyone in a company pension scheme. It wasn't something anyone had any choice about. You took a job, you were automatically enroled into the company scheme and that meant you were contracted out. On the plus side, the pension schemes were almost always based on final salaries, which are not available now, so I for one am not complaining.

Doodledog Tue 10-Nov-20 11:02:46

Something that a lot of people aren't aware of is that if you have been contracted out some of your NI has paid for your occupational pension instead of the State one, which reduces your entitlement to a State pension.

This can come as a shock if you have paid in all your working life and assume on that basis that you will get your occupational pension as well as a full State one - you probably won't.

You can, however, make up the difference by making voluntary contributions if you can afford them. It's galling to have to do it when you have already paid so much in and a lot of people have had their NI paid for them, but it can make a big difference to your pension.

The best advice is to look on the youGov website and check your individual situation, as there are so many variables. You will be able to see exactly what your pension forecast is, and why - it is also worth checking that their records of your NI contributions are correct, as it is not a given. If there are any errors it is better to get them sorted out in advance of your pension age.

FlexibleFriend Tue 10-Nov-20 11:27:09