Gransnet forums

Chat

Granddaughters father manipulating her

(20 Posts)
Windycaravan Fri 04-Dec-20 15:51:58

My daughter is separated from her ex due to domestic abuse . He has regular access to her but keeps buying her things when she visits . Its almost like he's trying to buy her things to get her to go there. Is this normal and has anyone seen this sort of thing .

?

Toadinthehole Fri 04-Dec-20 15:55:24

I have no experience of this directly, but surely, if he’s been a danger to your daughter, have the risks to your granddaughter been taken into account. Perhaps a visit to Citizens Advice would be appropriate.

travelnan Fri 04-Dec-20 15:57:37

"windycaravan" I am sorry but your question does not make sense. I think you have omitted some of your post.

Toadinthehole Fri 04-Dec-20 16:06:54

I think it made sense, but there wasn’t much information. Is this what you mean travelnan ?

Windycaravan Fri 04-Dec-20 16:21:32

Sorry I meant my granddaughter has regular visits to my daughters ex partner

Coolgran65 Fri 04-Dec-20 16:37:35

What age is your granddaughter. I think there comes a time when children see through this sort of thing.
As for an ex partner trying to manipulate children I’m sure it goes on and only your daughter (or you) know if he is the type.

Windycaravan Fri 04-Dec-20 16:45:04

Yes he's definitely the type . I saw it for myself when they were t sonogether . She's only 4 so she won't see it yet . He tells her he has presents for her . Its not right to bribe kids with presents and treats . They should be for birthdays and Xmas.

travelnan Fri 04-Dec-20 16:58:08

"windycaravan" Thank you fo your update it is all perfectly clear now. I feel sorry for your daughter having to see her little girl being manipulated like this. What a nasty piece of work.

Luckygirl Fri 04-Dec-20 16:59:43

When I was working it was very common for this to happen - Mum buys a bike, Dad buys a bigger one.........

petra Fri 04-Dec-20 17:02:28