Gransnet forums

Chat

Christmas gifts for teachers

(147 Posts)
Tigerdove Wed 09-Dec-20 15:22:07

The daughter of a friend of mine, who has two children in primary school, received a letter this week from the school. It stated that gifts for teachers would not be accepted but instead a donation of £10.00 per child would be accepted.

Nanagem Wed 09-Dec-20 15:33:55

Really 😳, I’m speechless

Marydoll Wed 09-Dec-20 15:33:58

As a retired teacher, I find that shocking and totally out of order!

Some of our parents could hardly afford to feed their children, let alone buy presents. We never looked for anything.

Lucretzia Wed 09-Dec-20 15:36:44

No!

Surely not

That's pretty outrageous

Pantglas2 Wed 09-Dec-20 15:38:37

I’ve never understood why people with very little spare cash bought presents for people who were simply doing their job. Surely a simple well written card from the child was appreciated?

Chlot Wed 09-Dec-20 15:47:47

Also a retired teacher.
I always said that I would really appreciate a card or picture made by the child. We had a collection box for charity at the end of term; if anyone wanted to make a gift I asked them to pop something in the box, then I matched whatever was raised.
When I was at secondary school, back in the 1960s my school got round this minefield by asking each child to bring ONE flower from the garden to make up into a bouquet for the teacher ( end of summer term). Nothing else was allowed. I really feel that parents can feel blackmailed into sending presents!
A ‘thank you’ is all that is necessary- and is really appreciated.

Callistemon Wed 09-Dec-20 15:56:17

We get this kind of thread every year and I take them with a large pinch of Maldons.

Surely not
No, not.

Tigerdove Wed 09-Dec-20 15:56:35