Gransnet forums

Chat

I’ve just sent a donation to Wikipedia - anyone else?

(77 Posts)
Urmstongran Tue 29-Dec-20 22:29:28

Am I mad to do so? I’ve never done so before but got to thinking how often over the years I’ve clicked on their site and after a prompt this evening from them, thought ‘okay’.

Curious as to your views on this.

(Ps separate from the charitable donations I make).

NiceasMice Fri 01-Jan-21 20:11:35

I don't donate to Wikipedia.
I do rather like looking at the editing history though. There is a lot of vandalism of wiki pages going on, it pays to be aware of the lengths people will go to in order to disrupt. However, while Wikipedia is good as a starting point for some subjects, it depends on the veracity and integrity of the authors.
The Jack the Ripper museum has an interesting editing history.

welbeck Fri 01-Jan-21 18:59:33

i did not read your comment like that, BB.

BlueBelle Fri 01-Jan-21 18:32:10

For Gods sake Monica now you say I made a claim to moral superiority I wish you hadn’t bothered to apologise as you are making me feel worse by the minute

David0205 Fri 01-Jan-21 17:56:40

Oh the accounts the Charities Commission see are fine, as long as the accounts are done properly.
Take Oxfam, the accounts show they spent over 30% on direct admin, it that’s not the end of the story much of their funding goes to other aid groups that have their own overhead costs of all sorts. It’s likely that around 50% actually helps those intended, which is fairly good for overseas aid, many aid projects get misappropriated.

M0nica Fri 01-Jan-21 15:02:13

David inthe Uk the Charities Commission keeps a very close eye on the proportion of a charities money goin in administration and for most it rarely exceeds 20% and is often much lower.

The 90% you quote applies almost entirely applies to Charities being deliberately fraudulently run or very small charities that have outlived their purposes, and often their funds.

David0205 Fri 01-Jan-21 10:46:59