Gransnet forums

Chat

I’ve just sent a donation to Wikipedia - anyone else?

(76 Posts)
Urmstongran Tue 29-Dec-20 22:29:28

Am I mad to do so? I’ve never done so before but got to thinking how often over the years I’ve clicked on their site and after a prompt this evening from them, thought ‘okay’.

Curious as to your views on this.

(Ps separate from the charitable donations I make).

Nortsat Tue 29-Dec-20 22:36:21

Yes Urms I quite often send a small donation (£2/3).
I use Wikipedia a lot and appreciate it.

GrandmaKT Tue 29-Dec-20 22:38:09

Yep, I send a small donation every year. I use it most days and am happy to give a little to support them.

Esspee Tue 29-Dec-20 22:47:02

I tend to do it every time they ask.

B9exchange Tue 29-Dec-20 22:51:15

Yes, I send small amounts, would be lost without it!

M0nica Tue 29-Dec-20 22:52:31

I do, regularly, I use it a lot. I make contributions to other sites that provide information as well.

I spent my career generating and distributing information and I know and understand just how much collecting and publishing data can cost, time costs, possibly data costs, technology costs.

NotSpaghetti Tue 29-Dec-20 22:57:41

Me too M0nica!
So yes.

SpringyChicken Tue 29-Dec-20 23:01:17

I did, about a fortnight ago.

SynchroSwimmer Tue 29-Dec-20 23:01:38

Me too, just done for the first time.

MissAdventure Tue 29-Dec-20 23:02:14

I'm glad you bought this up.
I wasn't sure whether to or not, but I will now.

Doodledog Tue 29-Dec-20 23:11:34

No. Wikipedia is a good starting point, but as it is a collection of pages produced by anyone who wants to, it is far from a reliable source. Anyone can alter what is there, too, which can be amusing at times, but it is very often inaccurate.

If I just want to know who starred in X film or similar, I will use it, but if I wanted reliable statistics or historical information (or whatever) I know I would have to check it out anyway, so prefer to go straight to a more reliable site.