Gransnet forums

Chat

Do teachers get training on domestic abuse

(19 Posts)
eazybee Sat 16-Jan-21 13:20:04

we don't know what he has told the teacher about the mother but none of it will be true.
Tread carefully
Your relative should make an appointment to see the Headteacher if she has concerns about the way her child is being treated, or is at risk from her father. Presumably he has access to the child as he is in contact with her teacher. Favouring the father' is a very ambiguous statement and she needs to be clear as to what exactly she is implying.
The records from the Nursery should have been passed on, but this does not always happen, and she may certainly ask if this is so, and I believe, request to see them.

Peasblossom Sat 16-Jan-21 12:04:44

I worked in a school that took children from the Women’s Refuge. Every day we dealt with parents who were angry, depressed, despairing. Both blaming the other and wanting our support.

We had to deal professionally and in a friendly manner with every parent. They would often take this amiss and accuse us of being in league with the other parent. One parent would demand that we banned another from the school, from Sports Day or the Christmas Play. Unless there is a Court Order both parents must be treated equally.

Your friend needs specific examples of how the teacher seems to be favouring the father. Is he given information or access that is withheld from the mother. I’m finding it hard to envisage exactly what she means,

trisher Sat 16-Jan-21 11:25:20

Can I say that teachers do present to families a 'public' face. It may seem at times that they are favouring someone but quite often what has happened is that they have spotted someone who might be a problem and they are behaving accordingly. This teacher may be charmed by this man , but she could equally have his measure and be maintaining good relations with him for the sake of the child. What she might say in the staff room could be another matter entirely.