Gransnet forums

Chat

Things you can't believe people have never heard of

(335 Posts)
Biscuitmuncher Fri 26-Mar-21 21:08:14

Well my children are in their early twenties and I was talking about the big ship stuck in the Suez Canal. To which they all said "The what!" I just can't believe they've never heard of it

Calistemon Tue 28-Dec-21 12:53:38

FarNorth

It may have been the smallpox one although I'm sure I was told it was polio.
Definitely not BCG, which I got in secondary school, as we had the scars while in primary.

Definitely the smallpox scar as I didn't have the polio vaccine until secondary school and the scar was always there as far back as I remember!

I'm surprised as well that the nurse didn't know .

FarNorth Tue 28-Dec-21 12:00:06

I was a bit surprised the nurse had never seen such a scar, anyway.

FarNorth Tue 28-Dec-21 11:56:18

It may have been the smallpox one although I'm sure I was told it was polio.
Definitely not BCG, which I got in secondary school, as we had the scars while in primary.

Calistemon Tue 28-Dec-21 10:11:15

Esspee

….or perhaps it was the smallpox vaccination. It is such a long time ago.

Yes, it's the smallpox vaccination scar.

Germanshepherdsmum Tue 28-Dec-21 10:09:20

I’m not from the sheltered generation, whatever that is, having been a teenager in the 60s, but I had to ask Mr Google what a pearl necklace meant after my experience mentioned earlier, in my late 50s/early 60s. You seem to think it’s funny if our ‘youthful experiences’ didn’t include promiscuity Mummer. I don’t find that funny.

Germanshepherdsmum Tue 28-Dec-21 10:04:30

I wonder where she studied for her degree. There’s a reason a lot of employers just bin cvs mentioning certain places of further education.

Mummer Tue 28-Dec-21 10:04:20

welbeck

i guess from what you are saying it must be something indecent. never heard of it. i was thinking maybe a pearl necklace is exorbitantly expensive.
is it perhaps a regional thing.