Gransnet forums

Chat

Ancestry DNA

(53 Posts)
Neen Mon 20-Sep-21 09:20:50

I did it and sent the sample of and waited. I at that stage hadn't said my biological father s side was Orkney Islands and Scottish in general and it came back 67 percent Scottish and Orkney and Highlands. Clever ole stuff. Then if you upload the results in the free ancestry part it brings up all these second cousins where you share a grandparent ..now that bit baffles me ...I'm a total beginner and I know when you share your link to a friend you get a tenner Amazon card and now my friend has sent hers of, she's like me and just wanted proof if she's in her case Welsh, my case Scottish . Is anyone a whizz or understands all this ancestry DNA please .

Redhead56 Mon 20-Sep-21 10:48:57

I was quite happy with my initial results English Irish Scottish Welsh with a smaller percentage Central Asia. Lots of cousins etc some names Scandinavian which could be from Viking invasions. Some of the names are linked to my actual paternal and maternal family names.
A cousin on my husbands side linked all our names to trace their roots from Russia Ukraine and Poland. To try to build a family tree as their family can’t be traced because of name changes etc. So now the results I am getting are my husbands family DNA.
They do not have my DNA I can’t imagine why he would include me as I am spouse not their actual blood family. I just don’t bother looking at the results anymore.

Blossoming Mon 20-Sep-21 11:24:11

I use Ancestry, as do with various cousins I am in touch with around the world. DNA shows me links to any cousins who have submitted DNA tests. Occasionally I see a second cousin I wasn’t previously aware of. They’ve never offered me a £10 Amazon voucher though.

Germanshepherdsmum Mon 20-Sep-21 11:57:15