Gransnet forums

Coronavirus

Hand gel

(25 Posts)
PinkCakes Mon 06-Jul-20 16:16:08

I use it at work (hospital ward), but not anywhere else. I wash my hands a LOT throughout the day (they are sore and dry), and when I get home - I drive - but I haven't ever wiped my groceries, nor wiped a supermarket basket or trolley, a petrol pump, garage vacuum, etc. I don't believe any of it is necessary if I wash my hands as soon as I am able to.

felice Mon 06-Jul-20 15:14:45

As a retired chef I hate to see people serving in Delis etc wearing gloves, going from customer to customer even handling money. Gloves should only be worn if there is a cut or skin complaint.
Keeps your nails very short and wash hands as often as you can.
Oh and do not wear a mask just after eating garlic bread as I did yesterday after having lunch with DGS, yuck. A mint made it even worse.

Rosalyn69 Mon 06-Jul-20 14:47:21

I use gel when I’m out.

SueDonim Mon 06-Jul-20 13:32:15

I’ve kept sanitiser and wipes in my bag for many years since we lived in developing counties that often had no running water. It became a habit so change there for me, really.

Btw, sanitisers do work on viruses, as long as they have the requisite amount of alcohol in them. That dissolves the fatty layer on the CV virus and destroys it.

Gloves only work if you change them frequently. If you touch a contaminated object with a gloved hand and then touch your face/bag/shopping/car door it transfers as effectively as with your bare skin.

Hospital staff don’t use the same gloves to go from patient to patient or task to task, they use new ones each time, washing their hands in between.

Franbern Mon 06-Jul-20 12:52:02