Gransnet forums

Culture/Arts

What is the value of the arts?

(23 Posts)
Joan Sat 18-May-13 08:07:57

I love all the arts - music, visual arts, theatre, ballet....but the prices to see something live here are just impossible on the pension. Never mind, there are always DVDs; and art galleries are affordable.

When I was a young student in Vienna I just loved the art galleries, and a special treat once was a Gustav Klimt exhibition.

I often got free tickets to concerts, theatre or ballet, because it was the 'done thing' to give any subscription tickets you couldn't use, to a student. I was the only student a lot of people knew!! I got to love operetta, because it was often political - they would change to words to satirise the political situation at the time - usually from a left wing perspective. I guess that would nobble their funding in this day and age.

nanna7 Fri 17-May-13 18:41:30

Has anyone been to see Mathew Bournes Swan Lake? It is absolutely breathtakingly beautiful. All the swans are portrayed by men, so very very powerful. It even took my husband's breath away and he's not a ballet fan. We shall certainly go to see it again ahem it visits our theatre.

Tegan Mon 13-May-13 13:00:49

Buxton Opera House is one of my favourite places in the world. We went to see the pantomime there one year and stayed overnight at a local hotel. Unfortunately the road from Derby can be quite treacherous in winter so we don't visit the place as often as we'd like. In fact, it was on the Michael Portillo programme the other day which made me want to visit it again.

Yummygran Mon 13-May-13 12:31:57

I am very lucky in that I live across the road from the Opera House in Buxton and love going to all sorts of events there. I think the Arts are extremely important to us. My DS is taking his 3yr old daugther there on Sunday to see 'Dora the Explorer'. She is so excited, it will be her second theatre visit and was captivated by the characters on stage.