Gransnet forums

Dieting & exercise

How to become flexible at 60

(24 Posts)
Newbeginnings Fri 13-Oct-23 18:33:32

I am 60 and beginning to seize up! is it possible to become flexible at my age. Any suggestions or recommendations?

Chocolatelovinggran Fri 13-Oct-23 18:41:02

I joined a yoga class for mature ladies at 60 and I feel that it has halted the decline of my flexibility.

Retread Fri 13-Oct-23 18:42:18

Chair Yoga. I do an online Zoom class.

Retread Fri 13-Oct-23 18:42:59

Meant to add - it definitely aids my flexibility, balance and more. I'm 74.

CanadianGran Fri 13-Oct-23 18:44:22

I agree that yoga is very helpful. I have been practicing for about 5 years now, and at 62 feel strong and flexible.

As an office worker sitting at a desk all day, I do think it is important to have a good mix of both strength, flexibility and cardio. I try to get a good walk in most days, then yoga at home (on-line class) about 3 times a week.

Retread Fri 13-Oct-23 18:45:13

(Apologies for dripfeed smile ) - the chair is just used as a proper for half the class. It is quite challenging, I like the fact that I can do e.g. the Warrior Pose seated, because that's quite a tough one.

Retread Fri 13-Oct-23 18:45:30

Prop! Damn autocorrect.

BeverleyJB Fri 13-Oct-23 19:06:46

At almost your age, plus being overweight, I started to get scared that I would never be anything approaching fit and was worried if I fell over, how embarrassing it would be to need assistance to get up! Most exercise regimes I had tried in the past were too difficult for someone like me - so I always gave up.
After a lot of searching, I found Tom Morrison's Simplistic Mobility Method. It's very flexible - you progress at your own pace and he gives other ways of doing the exercises if you find them too difficult. And when you get better, there are things to make the exercises a bit harder so you still get something out of them.
Tommorrison.uk

Whiff Fri 13-Oct-23 19:24:57