Gransnet forums

Education

"We did not invent PC but we can fight it"

(72 Posts)
thatbags Fri 06-Nov-15 08:05:36

Great article in Quillette – a platform for free thought.

LullyDully Wed 13-Jan-16 14:00:02

But not in Birmingham or London or High Wycombe or Bradford or Portsmouth or............... Not every child is Christian any more.

gillybob Wed 13-Jan-16 13:35:01

My DGD did sing:

"baa baa pink sheep have you any spots"
"yes sir, yes sir lots and lots"

Total gobbledegook.

Also my DGC often refer to children in their classes by Christian name and Surname as there are a few children sharing the same name.

Penstemmon Wed 13-Jan-16 12:12:53

All that "you can't sing baa baa black sheep" etc is mostly urban myth! I was a teacher in urban Sth London in the 70s/80s and we sang all the trad. nursery rhymes and I was the equal opportunity lead in the school. I did sometimes change language to make sure there was a better gender balance ! (Five little men in a flying saucer became 5 Astronauts etc to give the girls an idea they too could be an astrophysicist) but we had black sheep and we had black kids & teachers too! I was asked on the phone the other day who had served me and I said the young black guy. It's OK!

The article is referring more to academic work / thinking than to the nonsense often publicised (often proven to be incorrect) by some papers with a particular agenda. Also when an 'opponent' plays the PC card (either way!) it is a strategy to undermine an idea or action. If it is genuinely a stupid idea or action then that should be shown up in well aired knowledge based debate and not simply rubbished as non PC or PC!

oldkranky Wed 13-Jan-16 11:50:55