Gransnet forums

Education

How things have changed.

(15 Posts)
varian Fri 15-Sep-17 20:15:44

In the 1960s I worked as a researcher analysing inpatient statistics. I was told when I started that there were two computers I could usd. The university had a computer and the regional hospital board also had a computer. I used the hospital board computer, writing my programs in Fortran, having them transferred to punched cards, then inputing them usually at four o'clock in the morning.

I also helped to teach statistics to medical students. Lesson one was how to use the Facit mechanical calculatot.

Mamie Fri 15-Sep-17 12:26:11

I used to drive round a very rural county with a BBC computer and printer in the boot and lug it out off the boot into schools to show them how it worked.
Some teachers were very reluctant. ?

Mamie Fri 15-Sep-17 12:22:09

Our daughter went to university 27 years ago with her own Apple Mac. We bought our first BBC micro in 1982 and then a Mac in about '85. I became an Advisory Teacher for IT in schools in 1988.
It feels like a very long time ago. ?

JackyB Fri 15-Sep-17 12:11:18

We weren't allowed calculators - I can't use one to this day. I skipped a generation I suppose, because I prefer to set everything out in an Excel spreadsheet and let that do the work.

illtellhim Fri 15-Sep-17 11:55:05

We've got grandchildren (6,4), I do the school run in the P.M and bring them to our house for their evening meal.

They go straight to OH office and annoy Alexa,
Elder one said "Alexa can you fart", it appears that all of the class have strange things that they ask.

Flin Fri 15-Sep-17 11:45:04

Students have a huge range of reading on offer to download very reasonably. They are spoilt for choice, really. The kindle helps store masses of literature in a neat place, I agree how useful they are.
I recommend this read if you know any freshers. It may keep them on the straight and narrow.