Gransnet forums

Education

The benefits of lifelong learning

(42 Posts)
LadyHonoriaDedlock Wed 04-Nov-20 20:09:35

Is anybody else here enjoying higher education in their retirement years?

At 66 I'm doing a Masters degree, an MLitt in Film and Television Studies at Glasgow University. Apart from the stress of getting postgrad level assessments in by the deadline, and deadlines come thick and fast, I'm really enjoying it even if nearly all the teaching is conducted by Zoom.

I thought I'd feel left out, being much older than everybody else. All of my classmates are young women in their 20s, except for the one who's a young man in his twenties, but they've all accepted me into the circle. I'd say they were surrogate grandchildren, but it's not that kind of relationship. They welcome me in as one of them and the subject of age never comes up except when I tell them of bygone films and TV shows, especially all the black-and-white films that were staples of Saturday night and Sunday afternoons fifty years ago. Most of those films are now forgotten, which is a great shame.

Shandy57 Tue 12-Jul-22 21:02:20

I had a look at our local college courses today, starting in September - unfortunately out of budget.

Zonne Tue 12-Jul-22 20:49:48

I have been planning to start a PhD next year, but am now seriously considering doing another BA in a totally new to me subject.

Either way, it will be part-time, partly because of the fees, and partly because I have a number of other things I don’t want to give up.

Callistemon21 Tue 12-Jul-22 20:27:56

FannyCornforth

Reported
This thread is a spam magnet

?

I haven't learnt much Welsh either.

Cs783 Tue 12-Jul-22 20:17:48

I’m a huge fan (ex-student and ex- employee) of the Open University. Those French study schools in Caen were amazing weren’t they annodomini? I learnt so much.

Musicgirl hope you do study English language (linguistics) modules with the OU as I’m sure your love of the subject will be rewarded.