Gransnet forums

Food

Champagne. Prosecco. Cava.

(36 Posts)
LyndaW Thu 20-Aug-15 16:17:57

All taste the same to me. And it looks like the cheap stuff is selling more now too. In fact I find some champagne a bit 'dusty' tasting so prefer a cava any day. Not that I'm popping corks every day mind wink #bubblesisbubbles

whitewave Thu 20-Aug-15 16:23:38

Anyone know if the Aldi fizz is OK? DH 70th on Sunday and we are having a little soiree on Saturday with DD, DS and family, so thought I would get some fizz .. I am no expert by any means, but tne best fizz I have tasted is produced by the Camelford vineyard absolutely delicious.

kittylester Thu 20-Aug-15 16:33:52

We like Prosecco! Before it, theoretically, became scarce I bought a lovely one that should have been £9 per bottle. It was on offer at 2 for £12 and then, if you bought 6 there was 25% off. Unfortunately, we drank it all for DH's 70 birthday party. It makes a lovely Bellini!

Indinana Thu 20-Aug-15 16:44:41

I've never really understood the whole fizzy wine thing I'm afraid. Everyone seems to be into Prosecco these days. It was Lambrusco back in the 70s. I don't get it confused

Alea Thu 20-Aug-15 16:45:31

We bought either Aldi or Lidl prosecco (can't remember which) for our "30 years in the village " party in January. Extremely drinkable, quite dry and went down a treat!
#drinkanythinginawineglass

Jane10 Thu 20-Aug-15 16:53:11

I love most Champagnes but they do vary. I like Prosecco and seem to find it less harsh than Cava somehow. I'll drink any of them though!

Mamie Thu 20-Aug-15 17:53:29

I like all three and would add in sparkling Saumur. I only drink dry wines and am very fond of pink fizz. Lidl's Prosecco (with the orange label) is excellent. We pay 3.79€ a bottle (£2.70) about half the UK price I think.
The Lidl Champagne at 10.99€ is also very good.

merlotgran Thu 20-Aug-15 17:53:34

We buy Aldi Prosecco whenever there's an occasion that requires some bubbly and very nice it is too.