Gransnet forums

Food

Your “go to” comfort food?

(117 Posts)
MawBroon Tue 13-Feb-18 19:48:12

I am a keen cook, have even done it professionally, but when I feel poorly (like today) my “go to” is warm toast with peanut butter.
Or tinned tomato soup (Heinz de préférence)
If I have the energy, (which I don’t) my final favourite is thick sliced ham, fried egg and (oven) chips.

cornergran Sun 18-Feb-18 12:55:14

Today its jelly and ice cream, exellent for the throat. Usually its cheese on (sadly gluten free) toast.

NfkDumpling Sun 18-Feb-18 12:45:04

They’re talking about comfort food on the Radio Four Food Programme at this very moment. Do they have a GN spy do you think?

haporthrosie Fri 16-Feb-18 07:47:01

Eggs in a cup, oh yes ...

Welsh rarebit, bubble & squeak, rich tea biscuits, any sort of suet pudding with custard, Heinz tomato soup, proper chips (especially egg & chips or cod & chips) cauliflower cheese, sausages, boiled mince with bashed neeps, mash with gravy, mash with cheese and tomato, cream cakes, lardy cake, Eccles cakes, crumpets, fry-ups, macaroni cheese, cheese on toast, cheese with more cheese, gentleman's relish or anchovy paste on toast, Bovril on toast, kedgeree, treacle sponge, bread & jam, Dundee cake, condensed milk sandwiches, tinned fruit with evap, cream teas, tiramisu, almost any mild, Northern Indian food & those wonderful puddings - especially kheer with cardamom.

I have to put quite a bit of effort into stopping myself from drinking ridiculous amounts of Lucozade & hot Ribena no matter how fit I'm feeling.

Ovaltine, Bournvita, massive scalding cups of cha.

Some Romany friends give their children warm orange juice mixed with honey when they've sore throats or can't sleep. If I were their kids I'd pretend to be poorly & wakeful all the time - it's so soothing.

Dragonfly, oh yes I remember & adore egg pie. Ultimate comfort.

Lindiann, I'm so glad you reminded me of the Oxo cube/butter/bread cure. Lovely & it always worked.