Gransnet forums

Food

In need of....

(27 Posts)
ChaosIncorporated Sat 04-Aug-18 14:00:33

... inspiration and recipes, please.

An old friend is coming to stay next weekend, and I will need to provide both gluten free & dairy free catering.
I have always managed to provide edible meals....well, with the notable exception of the worst lemon meringue pie ever to come out of a kitchen! ,,,, but Would really like to avoid the boring and plain offerings of past visits

I would be so grateful for inspiring ideas and favourite recipes for tasty options.
I am an average cook who can follow a recipe, but my skills tend more towardspatisserie and desserts than the savoury end of things

Any and all ideas appreciated.

Auntieflo Sat 04-Aug-18 14:58:59

Chaos, if it is still so hot, you won't want to be slaving away in the kitchen. Why not go and trawl around a lovely air conditioned supermarket, visiting their "Free From" ranges? I am sure you will find lots to feed you and your friend, you will have more time to spend with her/him, and not stressed out. You can then make fabulous puds, that you say you enjoy doing.

Nannarose Sat 04-Aug-18 15:00:34

My latest favourite from the excellent Anna Jones is this lovely chocolate cake:

www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2018/apr/09/anna-jones-chocolate-cake-recipes

Spelt is fine for most people avoiding gluten (although it can be a problem for serious coeliac disease I think) and you have to be careful with the chocolate frosting as it uses a bar of chocolate so you have to find the dairy free kind. I have made it without the frosting and it' s great.

Does she need to be completely dairy free? We have a family member who is lactose intolerant and when she is here, we just all use the lactose free dairy products. You can buy lovely dairy free ice cream.

We buy oatcakes for savoury biscuits and make macaroons for sweet biscuits. Strawberries, lactose-free or soy based cream or ice-cream + a macaroon or meringue = very posh pud!