Gransnet forums

Food

Mac Red apples

(17 Posts)
Fennel Sat 29-Dec-18 19:50:49

I'm not an expert, GD.
But I find this very interesting, and when I next go to this market will ask them where they found their Mac Reds. I didn't know they were so rare.

Greyduster Sat 29-Dec-18 19:34:10

If you had saved the seeds, Fennel, do you think they might have come true to type? How do they pollinate?

Fennel Sat 29-Dec-18 19:26:28

I wish I'd kept some seeds from them now.

Alima Sat 29-Dec-18 19:21:52

I have never heard of this variety of apple before. This post has just made me realise I have not bought any russets this Christmas. I have bought them every Christmas since I married in 1976. They remind me of my Dad, he loved russets. I must get some tomorrow.

BBbevan Sat 29-Dec-18 19:13:25

Thanks*Greyduster*. I wonder where it originated?

Greyduster Sat 29-Dec-18 18:29:19

The term ‘to cabbage’ can be interpreted, with regard to fruit, as scrumping, although the tree I have my eye on is not inside anyone’s boundary so I will not be led away in handcuffs! I hope!
Fennel that’s interesting. I read an article online from a few years ago that said they were planning to introduce a red fleshed apple into supermarkets, but I don’t think it got off the ground.

Fennel Sat 29-Dec-18 18:18:26

Greyduster I found this link when I was reading about creating new types of fruit:
www.sciencelearn.org.nz/resources/844-breeding-a-new-apple-cultivar

BBbevan Sat 29-Dec-18 17:37:45

Greyduster you said you hoped to ' cabbage' some apples next year, I have never headed that expression before. What does it mean?

Greyduster Sat 29-Dec-18 17:16:39

I found a photo I took of my Christmas apple!

EllanVannin Fri 28-Dec-18 16:06:15

Tissue paper was what our tangerines were wrapped in. Mum hung on to them for our noses or the outside lav.

annodomini Fri 28-Dec-18 15:27:30

I love Coxes, and have never enjoyed Mac Reds. Coxes, to me, are the breath of autumn.