Gransnet forums

Food

Jam or Marmalade?

(40 Posts)
midgey Fri 27-Dec-19 14:19:07

My son brought some raspberry marmalade from Austria. He has asked what is the difference between jam and marmalade. I have no idea, any knowledgeable grans know?

Chestnut Sun 29-Dec-19 17:24:18

Oooh! Just found boysenberry jam on E-Bay. Made in Exmoor! How I don't know, maybe they imported some boysenberries from the USA and grew the fruit here. That is amazing. It ain't cheap though........

Chestnut Sun 29-Dec-19 17:11:47

I love marmalade and butter on toast and also Marmalade and peanut butter! Mmm....
I'm not quite as keen on jam for some reason, except boysenberry jam which you can only get in America (typical).
I also love lemon curd (or lemon cheese which is a bit thicker).

grannypiper Sun 29-Dec-19 16:51:27

Roses lemon and lime marmalade was sent to earth by angels

nonnasusie Sun 29-Dec-19 15:50:23

Just reread my post! Arancia not Arabia!!

Fennel Sun 29-Dec-19 15:40:45

I think that's the story I got my explanation from, varian.

varian Sun 29-Dec-19 12:51:02

As a schoolgirl in Scotland I was told that Mary Queen of Scots got seasick on a voyage from France and when her maid told the cook "Marie est malade" he made a concoction from sugar and oranges which cured her. It's probably apocryphal but marmalade is very popular in Scotland.

Fennel Sun 29-Dec-19 12:07:07

As a sideline - there's a very strange jam/confiture made in NW France with milk and sugar, caramel flavoured. I never tasted it but it was quite popular where we lived.
www.meilleurduchef.com/en/recipe/confiture-de-lait.html

farview Sat 28-Dec-19 21:15:05

Haha Nortsat46..my 4 children call me Paddington..re my marmalade butties(sandwiches)

lemongrove Sat 28-Dec-19 20:47:03

Try making a bread and butter pudding with marmalade spread on the bread slices, and cream added on top.

lemongrove Sat 28-Dec-19 20:45:54

I can’t live without marmalade, any kind will do!