Gransnet forums

Food

Icing bags and syringes

(17 Posts)
Baggs Tue 21-Jun-22 10:09:35

Has anyone tried both these things for cake decorating and if so which did you prefer and why?

I'm asking because I have to stand in for a cook while she's on holiday and I will have to decorate two birthday cakes. Nothing fancy, just 'Happy Birthday' and the person's name, but other than slapping on some water icing and a few sprinkles on my kids' birthday cakes, I'm not experienced!

Well.... there was one cake for a grandson who wanted a penguin cake. It was hilarious but he, at 4, loved it.

The thing is, my hands hurt so I'm looking for the easier option of the two icing tools. Plus any tips about making icing the right consistency for squirting through nozzles.

Over to you, grans, with thanks in anticipation ?

Callistemon21 Tue 21-Jun-22 10:29:52

Personally I didn't like using icing bags, much preferred a syringe although I'm far from an expert.
Icing bags were too messy.

Well.... there was one cake for a grandson who wanted a penguin cake. It was hilarious but he, at 4, loved it
I made a panda cake for DS once which turned out well but no piping involved.

Good luck!

Callistemon21 Tue 21-Jun-22 10:32:31

You can buy ready filled small icing syringes, I think

Dr Oetker (other makes available)

NotSpaghetti Tue 21-Jun-22 10:44:21

I like a bag as it's more controllable in my opinion... BUT, it's easier to use a sugarpaste/fondant mix and cut shapes out for decoration if you want something easy.
I like to mix with a little petal powder to make these but if you are in the uK and google Wilton fondant cut-outs you will probably find lots of help/ideas.

Regarding recipes, I use Peggy Porschen these days. There's lots of her stuff online too but she is more "fussy" than some others (which I don't mind as I do it so little). Or you can simply buy paste/fondant in numerous colours too.