Gransnet forums

Food

Basmati rice shelf life

(54 Posts)
singingnutty Thu 29-Feb-24 09:54:07

I have a large tub of basmati rice from the time during Lockdown when I got deliveries and ordered a big sack by mistake. Consequently it has been sitting around for more than 3 years in the garage on a storage shelf and I found it the other day when having a clear out. Will it still be ok to use? I don’t have a ‘use by’ date as it’s not in the original package. I hate to throw out food but wonder if it’s worth keeping.

MissAdventure Thu 29-Feb-24 09:57:47

I ate some basmati rice that was at least 6 years old a little while back. blush

It was fine though.

Shelflife Thu 29-Feb-24 09:59:35

Three years is a long time . I am no expert despite my username! Don't think I would use it though , may be all sorts of tiny creatures in there. Hope someone here can have a more positive answer for you.

MissAdventure Thu 29-Feb-24 10:13:09

I've just googled, and it says that rice will start to go brittle and not be so flavourful after about 6 months.
It says to check the smell, the look, and something else which I've forgotten.

LOUISA1523 Thu 29-Feb-24 10:15:55

If its been opened I would definitely bin it

Grannybags Thu 29-Feb-24 10:54:50

Just checked my bag of brown basmati rice. The best before date is August 2026. I’ve had it a few months already

Baggs Thu 29-Feb-24 11:04:00

I'd use it. In fact we still are using rice at least as old as that in the OP. It has been fine and so have we.

Dried food is meant to last a-g-e-s. Shops have to put use by dates on packets even when this is unnecessary.

Baggs Thu 29-Feb-24 11:05:36

I bet no-one in north India where it's grown would chuck it.

Witzend Thu 29-Feb-24 11:08:12

I’d definitely use it. Waste not, want not…