Gransnet forums

Gardening

Seeds!

(10 Posts)
Luckygirl Sat 15-Sep-18 10:01:46

Another question from this novice gardener.

I would like to grow some plants from seed for the summer - not veg, just flowers.

I have never done this before! All the sites on google assume a basic level of knowledge that I do not have.

Could someone take me through the basic principles please: when to plant, whether and when to water, when to thin out and what they go in then (?straight into the ground in the spring?), where to put them - I do not have a greenhouse, but have a garage, a shed and a dilapidated summer house.

All advice gratefully received!! smile

JessK Sat 15-Sep-18 10:08:28

I'm a novice too and have been using the RHS site as a valuable reference for all things gardening. It's pretty comprehensive. They also sell seeds of all sorts that are guaranteed to be from one of their gardens so should be very good. I'm certainly going to have a go!

Luckygirl Sat 15-Sep-18 10:18:00

Thanks for that - I will take a look.

We can monitor each other's progress!!

JessK Sat 15-Sep-18 10:23:00

I'm not holding my breath... I think I must be too impatient and I really haven't a clue!

midgey Sat 15-Sep-18 10:39:14

Positive thinking needed! My mother told me that seeds and plants of their nature want to grow and we only help or hinder them, you will soon learn....let’s face it a true gardener would say you are always learning. Try the books by Dr Hessayon, they are really helpful without fuss.

Farmor15 Sat 15-Sep-18 11:09:36

I’ll try to give some advice later today, when I have more time. It will be Spring before you’ll start growing any seeds for next summer but there are lots of bulbs in the shops now so you could buy some and plant in containers. They might encourage you as they’re so easy.

Liz46 Sat 15-Sep-18 11:15:03